Monday, 14 April 2014

Fourth Phase of Elections of Lok sabha goes viral...

The fourth phase of Lok Sabha elections on Saturday in seven constituencies spread across four states witnessed an impressive turnout with East Tripura registering 81.8% per cent voting.
Two seats of Goa, three of Assam and one each of Tripura and Sikkim went to polls on Saturday where more than five million voters sealed the fate of 74 candidates in voting machines.
The Election Commission here said that the polls were by and large peaceful. In Goa’s north and south seats, the voter turnout was 75%. Assam’s three seats—the Autonomous District, Karimganj and Silchar seats saw 75% turnout. The turnout in whole of Assam was 69.6% in the last Lok Sabha polls. The state has 14 Lok Sabha constituencies.
Tripura’s Tripura (East) seat which went for polls on Saturday saw a voter turnout of 81.8%. Last time, however, the turnout was much higher at 83.11%.
Sikkim went for simultaneous Lok Sabha and assembly elections on Saturday. The lone seat witnessed turnout of 76%. The voter percentage in the 2009 Lok Sabha elections was way above at 83.79%.
“The voter turnout percentage will be higher as we are yet to get finalfigures. There were still long queues of voters at polling stations,” said deputy election commissioner Alok Shukla.
Prominent candidates from North Goa include Ravi Naik (Cong), BJP’ssitting MP Shripad Naik and AAP’s Dattaram Desai. From the South Goa seat, Congress’ Aleixo Reginaldo Lourenco, BJP’s Narendra Sawaikar and AAP’s Swati Kerkar are among the prominent contenders.
Tripura saw a multi-cornered contest. There are 12 candidates in the fray including CPM’s Jitendra Chowdhury, who is the state industries minister,Congress’ Sachitra Debbarma, a prominent educationist, BJP’s Parkshit Debbarma, an ex-armyman, and Trinamool Congress leader Bhriguram Reang.
In the lone Lok Sabha seat of Sikkim, SKM’s Tek Nath Dhakal is expected to give sitting SDF MP Prem Das Rai a tough fight. BJP, Congress, Trinamool and Aam Aadmi Party had also put up candidates.
The contest in Assam’s Karimganj (SC) and Silchar was triangular between the Congress, BJP and AIUDF, while in the Autonomous District (ST) it was a fight direct between the Congress and the BJP

No comments:

Post a Comment